cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

rwike
Journeyman III

5700xt ray tracing?

Quick question. Do you think amd will enable ray tracing on 5700xt cards later on? I dont know if it could even handle it but now it seems like they're going to release new cards that have it baked in and I kind of feel like I got ripped off by buying the 5700xt. Waste of 400 dollars if I'm gonna have to buy a whole new gpu 8 months later for ray tracing. I want ray tracing but will not go to the other team. I'm fairly new to the PC life so I just thought all miss to high end cards had it now so its partially on me. Sorry for the book for just one question. Thanks for the replies. 

9 Replies
cyseal
Elite

Question is if your GPU will have new OpenCl and DXR version enabled with the driver.

Unity and Unreal require Nvidia RTX card for raytracing.

Cryengine already have API agnostic raytracing so 5700 is capable of this. (Neon Noir CRYENGINE Ray Tracing Benchmark. RX 5700 XT vs Radeon VII vs RTX 2080 - YouTube )

0 Likes

No AMD cards will feature any accelerated ray tracing until later this year with RDNA 2 cards, likely to be called the RX 6000 series, because they don't have dedicated ray tracing silicon or programmable ray tracing silicon, so it is not something they can simply "enable". Note the key word "accelerated", because they are capable of ray tracing, but not in any game yet due to the API requiring a GPU with hardware ray tracing, such as nVidia RTX.

But how does then Cryengine utilize realtime raytracing with AMD?

0 Likes