threeheadedsheep

AMD Ryzen 7 3700x random crashes

Discussion created by threeheadedsheep on Jul 17, 2020
Latest reply on Jul 27, 2020 by elstaci

AMD,

I upgraded my setup from Intel based to the AMD Ryzen 7 3700x.  I've had it for about six months now and after the same issue, I'm here on the forums seeking help. Typically I can diagnose issues like this as I've been working with builds for 15+ years but this one has me stumped. 

Long story short, I'm on my second power supply replacement and I'm about to get a third due to this issue. 

When I initially got the setup running in January parts I reused were the power supply and SSDs. Everything else was new, no known issues with the previous hardware. I gutted the Intel and threw everything together got the PC running, removed old drivers and installed new ones and checked the registry. System is water-cooled on both the CPU and GPU side, no overclocking. Everything was running smooth for about a month and then I started getting random crashes, bsod, no dump file, nothing. It would just shut off briefly and restart. (some history, this is my luck whenever I try to do an amd build... I don't know why but this happened to me the last time I tried an all amd build 10 years ago). 

So the restarts started happening, couldn't figure out why so I'd just work with it. A week passed and then it got to a point where it appeared the PSU completely failed and would no longer restart. Diagnosed every part by swapping and bench testing before I came to the conclusion that it was the power supply.