cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

mattytowel
Journeyman III

How do I change setting on FirePro Control Centre to reduce performance of V7900?

Hello all

I am a mechanical design engineer, my employers buy me the tools I need and I don't have to think about how they work, so please be patient, and give simple replies if you can help.

I have recently repurposed (cobbled together) an old CAD workstation (spec below) to hopefully simplify what we curently do at home.  The fan on the Firepro V7900 graphics card (for a CAD system) is sometimes very noisy.  I think that what I require of it will be a lot less than it is capable of and so I would like to set some limits on what it does so that it stays cool and doesn't run the fan so much.

I have ordered some cans of air duster and will use them when they arrive, and I have examined what I can using GPU-Z and HWinfor64 , but can't see any settings in AMD FirePro Control Centre that would allow me to set any limits.

My household would be using the HTPC for the following: Minecaft and similar lvel games, streaming at SD level, playing DVDs, streaming SD level DVB-T and recordings, Zoom meetings, Youtube.

For environmental reasons, as a household, we have a policy of replacing items when they break not when they are old, and I would like to get as much life out of the existing hardware as possible. 

Current specifications

Dell precision Workstation T3500

Intel Xeon CPU W3690 @ 3.47GHz, 3459 MHz, 6 Cores, 12 logical processors

12GB RAM

Windows 10 Pro

Hauppauge DVB-T PCIe card

AMD FirePro V7900 (Fire GL V) - as reported by Windows Device Manager

Driver Version 15.201.2401.1010 - as reported by Windows Device Manager

Driver Packaging Version 15.201.2401.1010 - as reported by AMD FirePro Control Centre

AMD FirePro Control Centre Version 2017.0130.1123.20418 - as reported by AMD FirePro Control Centre