cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

kirilkm
Journeyman III

what motherboard do i need ?

so i am building a new gaming pc and its my first time using AMD GPU so i have couple of questions ..

i am going to buy the AMD Ryzen 7 3800x 3.9 GHz 8-core and i am having trouble to understand what kind of motherboard i need .

does it matter what brand i use or its better to use MSI one (same question for the Graphic cards)

and can someone please explain to me about the chipset , and what kind of chipset do i need in the motherboard.

recommendation for a motherboard would be good . thank you for spending time to read and answer (even if you dont).

0 Likes
2 Replies

Depends on what your Budget is. How much you are willing to spend.

Building a computer is a little bit complex.

First you need to have the proper PSU to power your computer system with a high wattage processor and/or GPU card. I suggest something around 850 watts or higher with a metal ratings (Platinum, Gold, Silver, Bronze). You can use this website as a reference for the type of PSU you might need depending on the GPU card you are going to use: PSU REQUIREMENTS - RealHardTechX 

For the Ryzen 3rd Generation processor you need a Motherboard that uses a AM4 Socket unless you are planning on getting a 3rd generation ThreadRipper Processor that uses a Motherboard Socket TR4.

Besides other Users opinion on which AM4 Motherboard is best, do some research by reading reviews and customer's evaluations of the motherboard you are interesting in buying. In customer's evaluation I tend to look at the poor ratings (1 or 2 stars) to see if I see anything common.

As an example I found this at PCGAMER.com which shows their best Ryzen Gaming motherboards for 2020: Best AMD motherboards in 2020 | PC Gamer