Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

lucasmsl
Journeyman III

Ryzen 7 3700x fan 0 RPM At High Temperatures

Ryzen 7 3700x fan 0 RPM At High Temperatures

So, this is my first time with a Ryzen CPU and I'm having an issue with it's cooling system.

I'm getting around 70-90ºC with my PC idle (just using the browser) and the CPU fan isn't working 100% of the time. It stays on 0 rpm for like 30-35 seconds then goes to a burst of 2900 rpm for around 3-5 seconds, and back to this loop.

I don't know much about processors and cooling but it seems pretty stupid to have it's fan on 0 rpm while it's over 70ºC, no?

I've tried a few different settings for the fan curve on the BIOS but none had any effects. I also used the CPU-Z Stress CPU test, which made it go up to 95ºC, but still. The fan always behave like I mentioned earlier.

I'm not sure if I should address this to AMD or MSI (I'm using a MSI X570-A Pro).

Is this normal? Should I get a new cooler? Or maybe return the processor?

HWMonitor screenshot: https://i.imgur.com/5tbCBoV.png

PS.: It's a fresh processor. I've been using it a little more than a month.

0 Likes
5 Replies

Can you try using the program HWinfo64 to monitor your temperatures and fan speed as it is a lot more accurate. 

Your fan won't be spinning down to 0 RPM otherwise the CPU would get too hot and shut the PC down which is how they are designed to prevent damage.  

Fans do spin up and down during browsing or gaming but they have a hardware set minimum RPM  way above 0.  

Also 95c is perfectly normal during stress testing that you have as it is a synthetic benchmark designed to push the CPU to its limits.  

Andy

0 Likes

I used many softwares to make sure I had the right number for the temp, because I have my pc right by side, where I can see the fan literally at 0 rpm. There is no denying in that because I had my eyes on it everytime it reported 0 rpm.