0 Replies Latest reply on Oct 8, 2018 1:36 PM by davejb

Finally, my fix for "Display driver amdkmdap stopped responding and has successfully recovered"

davejb

Hi guys, I had this problem for almost a year (see here my terrible crashing for months fixed - RX 580 and Vega RX56 ) and I was ... losing my mind. In short, I had NO stability issues for almost 3 years with an Intel box and an R9 280. I then upgraded to an RX580 and started to get the amdkmdap error constantly. Then the Vega RX56 came on sale and I hoped that the 580 was defective and the Vega would fix the issue. Nope. These crashes were just constant, no matter what I was doing. Of course I'd tried playing with the Wattman settings, different driver versions, different graphic settings, I fully wiped the hard drive and reinstalled Windows 10, etc etc. Now, I've been PC gaming for 23 years and building my own gaming systems since the late 90's, so I'm no noob (plus I'm a sys admin for a living) but this was driving me nuts. If I had had more time to dedicate to solving this problem instead of just trying to spend my little bit of free time gaming, I would have have been more methodical and figured it out sooner but oh well.

Now, I have a few posts on this forum about this and thought I had it figured out a couple times thinking something else was causing it, but no. I've fixed it now. No more crashing. It took me a very long time to track down the specific problem by starting to take notes to any changes made by me, Windows Updates, or driver updates. I had tried the TDR_Delay fix and that seemed better for a while but wasn't good enough. Also, either this key or another key (I'm not at home to see my notes) kept changing even DURING my gaming sessions. I'd set it, it would be fine as long as it remained then the driver would crash and when I looked at the registry key it had been changed back.