cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

thx1138
Adept I

Vertical Lines distortion on youtube etc?

I am not sure if this is related to the video card, software or something else. I have been experiencing vertical lines showing up on youtube videos and other streaming sites. I see this in all browsers: chrome, firefox, opera. I have a Dell M770 monitor and the I also connect my PC to LG42TV. I see the same thing on both. I have a subscription to sling and when viewing live tv I don't seem to have a problem. But streaming archived videos online and some video files I have like mp4s etc the problem shows up. I have a  short screen capture video (mkv) of what I see but I am not sure if posting it would be any kind of violation. I also notice that I have installed latest software and drivers 18.2.2 according to windows programs list but Radeon settings is recommending to install 18.2.1? I am wondering if this something to do with Adobe Flash or DirectX.

Windows 7 Ultimate 6.1.7601.24023 Service Pack 1 64-bit.

Motherboard

ASRock Z77 Extreme4 (CPUSocket)

CPU

Intel Core i5 3570K @ 3.40GHz

Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology

RAM

16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 799MHz (11-11-11-28)

Graphics

DELL M770 (1280x1024@60Hz)

Intel HD Graphics 4000 (ASRock)

1024MB ATI AMD Radeon R7 200 Series (Sapphire/PCPartner)

CrossFire Disabled

11 Replies

You could disable HARDWARE ACCELERATION in the browser to test if it is software or driver/hardware related. Once you know that, you at least know what avenue to pursue. If you disable it and it plays fine you pretty much know it is something video card or the cards drivers or a conflict there off. I too had issue with hardware acceleration in the browser with the first couple Adrenaline drivers but subsequent drivers did fix this.

0 Likes