3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2017 3:02 AM by justair

Can't get system to boot with 2 Radeon Vega64s

justair

Hi all, I am having a problem with getting my new system up and running.

Specs:

Ryzen 1700

16 Gig (2x2) GSkill PC3200 TridentZ RGB

Asus Rog Strix X370-F Motherboard

Evga 1000W G3 PSU

2X Gigabyte Radeon RX Vega64s

(3 Fans 2 Hard Drives 1 DVD)

Win10 64.

Ok.. So,  I'll try to be brief and clear.  Each card works in every PCIE slot. So both are working.  As soon as I plug in the other one the system Powers on, everything lights up but I get no

display signal. I've tried switching things around but that apparently does nothing.  What am I missing here? I've never done a dual card setup before but I figured it was fairly easy. Just plop it in and go (provided your hardware can handle it)   I don't think these cards use a bridge, and I am not aware of any Motherboard settings I might have to configure.. so not sure what's up. I am at a loss.

• Re: Can't get system to boot with 2 Radeon Vega64s
          justair

As a side note (may be relevant)  I am using the display port on the upper video card but have tried using all of the other display ports on both cards. There is a gpu indicator load light on both cards to show usage and I note that it does not come on when both cards are installed. There are also options in the bios under the PCIE settings for each pcie slot. Auto and Gen 1-3 (currently set to auto)  If this helps.

elstaci

According to this website, using two Vega64 in Crossfire you need a minimum PSU of  1100 watts total system to operate correctly. PSU REQUIREMENTS - RealHardTechX  You are using a 1000 watt PSU. Maybe that is why when you remove one Vega64 card the computer works correctly.

This is just an observation, might be a driver issue but see the above mentioned link to determine if you believe you have a proper PSU for running two Vega64 cards together.

justair