cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

dragontamer
Journeyman III

OpenCL -O2 makes program incorrect: Help!

Hello AMD Forums,

This is my first post and I'm also new to OpenCL. Hopefully my mistake here isn't too "n00b". At the core, my program functions perfectly well at -O0 optimization level, but as soon as I go to -O1 or -O2, the output is completely wrong. The program overall is an OpenCL-based PuyoPuyo AI. In short, when you match four of the same color together, the "puyos" fall down, creating a chain reaction. This GIF is a good example of how these chain-reactions can occur: https://i.imgur.com/jWBs2JI.gif . Generally speaking, the bigger your chain, the more damage you do to the opponent.

There's a lot going on here (falling and scoring for example), but I've simplified the code down to the "pop" routine only. I've removed as much code as possible in the attached "Simplified.zip" Visual Studio 2015 project. Please let me know if there are any issues with this .zip file or the project.

My Hardware is an R9 290x and my drivers are "Radeon version 17.10.3".

-------------

The output includes a ton of "printf" statements, but the very first 4 statements are all you need to see the difference from -O2 and -O0. In -O2, the first few lines are:

Err is: 0

A 80000000, 80000000 00000000 00000000

Color Table: e0800000 04001500 e5600020

B 80000000, 80000000 00000000 00000000

C 80000000, 80000000 80000000 80000000

Without going into how the algorithm works... the difference between line B and line C are intriguing. The printf in the OpenCL "pop.cl" file really show the mystery.

printf("B %08x, %08x %08x %08x", pickedBit, groupTable[0], groupTable[1], groupTable[2]);
          while (didGrow) {
               didGrow = false;

// Why is "Printout C" wrong when compiled with -O2?
               printf("C %08x, %08x %08x %08x", pickedBit, groupTable[0], groupTable[1], groupTable[2]);