20 Replies Latest reply on Jan 12, 2018 10:47 AM by ajlueke

Molten Monolith

ajlueke

Description

My monolith rig has been upgraded for desktop use, while I also work on my living room solution.  This is my first attempt at a custom liquid cooling solution, but it seemed to be the most stable for RX Vega based graphics cards.

Specifications

CPURyzen R7 1800X at 4.00GHz (P0 overclock)
      CoolerEKWB based custom loop
      MotherboardASRock 370x Fata1ty Professional Gaming
      MemoryCorsair Dominator Platinum CMD32GX4M4C3200C14C (3200 MHz CL14)
      GraphicsGigabyte RX Vega Air (EKWB water block and backplate)
      Disc Drive 1Samsung 960 Evo (1TB)
      Disc Drive 2Samsung 830 (250GB)
      Disc Drive 3Wester Digital Green (3 TB)
      PSUCorsair AX860
      CaseABS Canyon 695 (Modded)
      MonitorAcer XF270HU

My trials with the original Monolith are chronicled here.  Monolith

After upgrading to an RX Vega, I was having a tough time getting the card to pass the Time Spy stability test using the standard air cooler.  My temps were pushing into the 70C range easily and the throttling of the clock speeds to compensate seems to lead to a few dropped frames.

AMD Radeon RX Vega 64 video card benchmark result - AMD Ryzen 7 1800X,ASRock X370 Professional Gaming

Online research seemed to indicate that water cooling Vega would yield superior results, and due to the neat builds I've seen on this community, I decided to give it a try. 

Using the existing ABS Canyon case I had, and EKWB parts (what my local shop stocks) I have the final product below.

DSC04301.JPG

I opted to go for a black/nickel aesthetic.   I had two available 5.25" bays in the upper part of the case. so I went with the EK-DBAY D5 Pump with integrated reservoir.  My case is much taller than it is wide, so there wasn't really room for a separate standing reservoir.  From there, the loop goes Pump/CPU Block/CE 140 radiator/GPU/CE 280 Radiator/Pump.