5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 14, 2017 9:11 AM by amdmatt

Will an i5 2500K Bottleneck a RX 480?

eramark1

Hello!

This is my first time on this forum and also the first time that i try to build my own computer, so i am sorry in advanced if i created this in the wrong section!

I am currently using a desktop PC with:

- AMD Radeon R7 200 Series

- Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500 CPU @ 3.30GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.3GHz

- Asus P8P67LE

The current setup works fine but i wanted to buy another, stronger graphic card!

I had this one in my mind because it was recommended to me by some of my friends :

- Radeon RX480

Now the thing i am worried about is my processor bottlenecking my graphics.

If the bottleneck would happen which kind of a processor would i need ( minimum )?

Thank you for your help!

Cheers.

Message was edited by: Matt B We have updated the title of this discussion with relevant details to better describe your issue.

• Re: Will this bootleneck?
          black_zion

That's impossible to answer as some games are CPU dependent, such as CS:GO or GTAV, while others are GPU dependent, such as The Witcher 3. So, tell us what your most demanding games are and we can tell you the answer.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              eramark1

With my current setup i have big performance issues with Player Unknown Battleground which doesn't work above 40 - 50 fps.

I also play Rust which works "normal" on low settings without any major issues ( stutter at times ).

Rainbow Six Siege works fine with 60fps on low settings too.

Generally i don't play heavily demanding games like the new Battlefield 1 or Witcher 3.

And as i read your reply CS:GO and even GTAV worked fine on my PC, when Witcher 3 had major issues.

EDIT : I am playing PUBG on all low and in the smallest resolution possible with some extra tweaks to the game to make it less laggy.

black_zion