17 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2017 8:00 AM by rebelyell

Compatibility with G.skill TridentZ - will it defect/corrupt when changing RGB? (DDR4)

seanw

Currently the internet is completely covered with fear about compatibility with the ryzen CPU's and TridentZ RGB DDR4.
      My question is short before i install these currently in my hands and newly bought rams,
      Will they work on RGB control if i dont overclock my system with the ryzen 1600x? Or will they break with a '' SPD corruption'' whatever that is, over a time?

Should i change the TridentZ - F4-3200C16D-16GTZR ( 8GB HYPNIX A-Die )

To the                        Trident Z - F4-3200C14D-16GTZR ( 8GB Samsung B-Die )

just bought for a ryzen 1600x CPU with ASUS rog strix x370-f gaming motherboard.
      i'm no PC expert but all i can wonder is why do people have good results with the samsung B-Die over the hypnix A-die?
      But more importantly... what will/should work?
      the 16D or 14D...

I hope sincerely for a quick reply so i can return the rams tomorrow if necessary for other ones that are '' compatible when touching RGB control ''.

• Re: Compatibility with G.skill TridentZ - will it defect/corrupt when changing RGB? (DDR4)
          whiskey-foxtrot

If you have the option to change to the F4-3200C14D-16GTZR (same as the ones I've been using F4-3200C14Q-32GTZR), I would go for it. Eventually the HYNIX die will most likely be supported, but if you want your PC set up now AND get up to the rated frequency (3200MHz), go with Samsung B-die.

As for RGB controls, ONLY (and I cannot stress it enough) ONLY use 1 (ONE) LED controller app. Install ONLY Asus AURA -OR- G.Skill LED controller app - NOT both. You WILL have issues if you try to use both. Even installing one and trying to uninstall it will cause issues if you install the other one.