22 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2017 3:35 PM by whiskey-foxtrot

AMD broke my configuration AGAIN.

thick8

I was using a DisplayPort to HDMI adapter so that I could play my games at 4K/60Hz. Everything was working fine for months. I bought a new Ryzen motherboard and CPU as an upgrade to my FX-8350 and everything was still working. I had to update my drivers to gain some needed functionality. Now I can't get the adapter to work anymore. I'm running a pair of 290s. I've checked around the net and it would seem that this was intentional on AMDs  part. WTF!!!! I've been running AMD for 20 years but this type of crap has been an issue with my last 2 systems.

Does anyone have a work around for this issue. AMD is not responding to my emails and I figured I would give it one more try before I go buy a 1080ti. I was going to go with the new Vega but AMDs lack of support is just getting too frustrating.

• Re: AMD broke my configuration AGAIN.
          ray_m

Please take the time to provide the essential  INFORMATION REQUIRED WHEN POSTING A QUESTION

thick8

Describe your system:

• AMD Graphics Card
                • Make and model: XFX R9 290 double dissipation (X2).
              • Desktop
              • Operating System: Windows 10 64bit
              • Driver version installed: Radeon Software Crimson Edition 16.0.0 through 17.6.2
              • Display Devices: Vizio D50U-D1 Club active DP to HDMI adapter
              • Motherboard + Bios Revision: Asus Crosshair VI Hero + 1201
              • CPU/APU: AMD Ryzen 1700
              • Power Supply Unit  Make, Model & Wattage: EVGA 1200 G2 1200 watt
              • RAM: 2x8 Corsair DDR4 3000

Describe your issue:

Ever since the driver version 16.? the DP to HDMI is unable to display 4K. There is a message that pops up stating there is a link error and the screen defaults to 1080/60hz. I can display 4K/30Hz on the HDMI port but am unable to achieve 4K/60Hz due to the driver issue.