6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 24, 2017 12:59 AM by ajlueke

Build advice

ueltay

Hello All,

I am new to the Red team but not new to AMD obviously! I am going to upgrade my old system I have had since 2008 with small upgrades along the way,

My main question is what motherboard and RAM kit have most of you went for or could recommend?

I am thinking either the ASUS Strix X370-F or MSI X370 Gaming Pro Carbon,

Both have similar specs/features but has anyone had any issues with the MSI board at least as the ASUS board is new!

Also what RAM kits are recommended? I would prefer 2 x16GB @ 3200Mhz as I will upgrade to 64GB at a later stage, has anyone else got this config or similar?

Thanks for any help you can give!

Uel

• Re: Build advice
          whiskey-foxtrot

Hi Uel,

Both can be great boards if you can get a stable BIOS on there. As for RAM, I've had the best luck G.Skill brand ram, specifically those that use Samsung B-die. As improvements continue to be made to BIOS' through Agesa (Community Update #4: Let's Talk DRAM! ) you'll find that more memory options are being added to the list of compatible products. Here's another list of compatible memory: https://community.amd.com/external-link.jspa?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.amd.com%2Fsystem%2Ffiles%2F2017-06%2Fam4-motherboard-m…  but you'll also want to consult your chosen motherboard's QVL.

Here's my system Oscar Mike and you can find many other great Ryzen systems in the Rig Showcase . I prefer the enthusiast Asus boards and I've built many based on the Crosshair line just for the BIOS options and as mentioned, G.Skill is my go-to for memory. I currently use a 32GB kit @ 3200MHz and even with heavy rendering, I barely hit 70% capacity usage, so 64GB would be overkill for me. I did not go with a 64GB kit because I knew of the Hynix vs Samsung memory chips, but even if 64GB @ 3200Mhz or higher was available at the time, I would not have purchased it since it's just wasted cash.

2 of 2 people found this helpful