5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 10, 2018 2:02 AM by sophieellison316jd

AMD Ryzen 1800X Build Constant BSODs

airfair

I will preface this post by saying I am not a computer expert, but I do know my way around computer hardware, basic software, and BIOS/UEFI interface.

Anyway, so around the end of April I upgraded my old CPU, MOBO, and RAM to the new Ryzen architecture. I was aware of the potential early adopter issues that might arise but after almost a month of going back and forth between stable and not I am at a loss of ideas on how to proceed. Current build is as follows:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 1800x

MOBO: ASUS Prime x370-Pro

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 3000 (PC4-24000) C15 for DDR4 Systems, Red LED (CMU16GX4M2C3000C15R)

GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 970

SSD: Samsung 850 EVO (boot drive - has Windows 10 Pro installed on it)

HDD: WD Blue 1TB Generic hard drive

Before upgrading, my computer literally never crashed. I had an AM FX8320 CPU with a compatible mobo and ram. I am still using the same GPU, SSD, and HDD. I am also using the same OS (Windows 10 Pro).  After upgrading to the Ryzen build, my computer began going into periodic BSOD crash loops - as in it would boot up, get to desktop (sometimes), and the give me a BSOD error. The error it would give me varied (I will list the errors below) but they all seemed to have something to do with the Win10 kernel, the CPU, or the RAM. BSOD I get are as follows:

0xc000021a

unexpected_kernel_mode_trap

bad_pool_header

bad_pool_caller

system_service_exception

page_fault_in_nonpaged_area

bad_system_config_info

critical_process_died

0xc0000139

critical_structure_corruption

memory_management