12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 12, 2017 12:32 AM by rebelyell

Ryzen 1600 for video editing?

eastflorida

I'm looking to do my first build in several years. Trying to figure out the best bang for my buck.

Anyway, I want to edit GoPro videos. Nothing fancy but my current setup takes hours to render! LOL

I'll also use it a a HTPC streaming video content to my TV.

I don't want to go crazy, but I don't want to skimp too much. I need some suggestion please...

Processor: Ryzen 1600?

Ram: 8 or 16GB?

Ram Speed: 2400 or less?

A350 Chip Set MB?

SSD?

ATX vs mATX form?

HD 1 or 2 TB?

Video card?

I'm not really into overclocking, just want something stable and relatively fast.  I'm no pro, but the old stuff has finally beaten me down.  As I mentioned, it's been a while so I'm trying to get myself back up to date on all the new stuff! LOL  I have no idea what SSD to use, etc, so any input is welcome...

I'm reading I get more performance for better value considering Ryzen 1600 vs Intel i3,5, etc...  Help guide a newbie!!

• Re: Ryzen 1600 for video editing?
          gkeawe

The Ryzen 5 1600 is an excellent choice, you'll notice a big difference in rendering times. I'd go with some G.Skill 32GB DDR4-2400 4x8GB Fortis Series or FlareX both brands are good, also I would go with a mainstream chipset B350 based motherboard. I have two Asus Prime B350-Plus motherboards and they run great with the current 0609 Bios update. I'm running a 400GB Intel 750 PCIe SSD, 2TB HDD for game videos, etc. Thermaltake 600Watt PSU,  XFX Radeon RX480 8GB Video Card,  Coolermaster HAF XB Evo LAN Box

The Ryzen5 1600 is running Windows 10 Pro version 1703 OS build 15063.296

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            conraire

I agree with gkeawe.

The prices I'm mentioning are from newegg.  You may be able to find them cheaper elsewhere.  Though if you want to give us a budget to work with pcpartpicker lists are always handy to post.