8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2017 4:11 PM by warsun

My FX9590 is overheating

psychobouncer2

Compared to what you guys say it is supposed to be at max. I have a Cooler Master Nepton 140 water cooler and it kept my previous FX processor at 40C max. This is reaching max temps of 78C. At complete Idle, it runs at 10-25C. This is amazing. Under load however, it runs WAY TOO HOT and it scares me. I have a Full Cooler Master Storm Trooper case. 16GB1866 Corsair Dominator Ram, GTX 970 (4GB). What can you do about this? I would almost rather get a FX8350 or something. This is ridiculous. I have always been a huge fan of AMD and I have ALWAYS used your processors. My only problem is that this is running almost 20C hotter than it says on the site. Even with a water cooler that I know works well. I am just worried.

• Re: My FX9590 is overheating
          arcticwind

Need more info on your system.  INFORMATION REQUIRED WHEN POSTING A QUESTION

What motherboard and bios version?

What OS are you using?

What processor where you using on this motherboard before you installed the FX-9590?

Where are you getting the temperature readings from?

What power supply are you using?

psychobouncer2

My apologies. Thanks for the help. This is what I am running. Also, My old one was an AMD FX6200 Zambezi 6-Core 3.8GHz. I know this is weak compared, but I am just wondering more about the high temps compared to what they say on the site. I am getting temp readings from the program, "Core Temp".

• NVIDIA Geforce GTX 970 (4Gb)
              • Desktop System
              • Thermaltake Storm Trooper Full Case
              • Windows 10 64bit
              • OS version 14393.693
              • Asus VE248H Black 24" 2ms Full HD HDMI LED Backlight LCD Monitor
              • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ (Bios Version FA)
              • AMD FX 9590 Vishera 4.7GHz 8-Core (w/ Artic Silver 5 Thermal Paste)
              • Cooler Master Nepton 140XL CPU Cooler