4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 25, 2017 9:11 AM by sefe

Constant Crashing w/RX480!!

stuka87

To say I am fed up and pissed would be a huge understatement. I play a large amount of World of Tanks (Along with 8 million other users worldwide). This is a competitive online game, and have now lost a significant number of matches because the game continually crashes with Wattman saying it has reverted back to stock settings (which it was already at). And I should note that I have been running AMD GPUs for nearly 20 years (first was a Rage Pro, and used to run only AMD CPU's, but they stopped being competitive), and I even used to beta test drivers for you guys back in the mid 2000's. And I am a QA Engineer by trade, so I tent to be thorough in trying to find the issue.

Few details:

CPU: Intel 4960K

Mobo: Asrock Z97E-ITX/ac

RAM: Corsair Vengeance Pro 16GB (2x8GB)

SSD: Intel 480GB 780

GPU: Sapphire RX480 Nitro 4GB purchased on day 1 of availability

Drivers: Issue seems to have started with 16.12.x, continues in 17.x

How it happens: Will be playing game, screen will lock, after approximately 5 seconds it will crash to desktop. Windows will play chime sound and the AMD settings app will pop up an alert saying that Watman settings have been reset to default.

Event Log Entry: Display driver amdkmdap stopped responding and has successfully recovered.

Things I have tried: The Wattman settings were originally stock. I have since tried under clocking, under volting, over volting, running with 'Power Efficiency' on/off, tried with JUST the driver installed and no AMD settings via custom install.