13 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2017 2:19 AM by tommy2k14

Advice Please

tommy2k14

I am in the market for a new desktop computer, and have seen the HP EliteDesk 705 G3 with an A12 processor? What do you think of these?

I am a self-employed computer engineer that will use the new computer to create and use Virtual PC's, write documentation, use multiple tabs in Firefox etc, test software and hardware, amonst other things.  Or should I go for an A8 or A10?

• Re: Advice Please
          arcticwind

Have you considered building your own system?

It will free you from any of the restrictions of a prebuilt system that uses OEM parts and software.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            tommy2k14

Ok, shall I plump for an a10?

tommy2k14

Thankyou.

I got told that A12s only come in laptops - surely that can't be right?

Hello tommy2k14,

From your description, I find that you want to create and use Virtual PC, or in other words, you want to host many system under a desktop computer. http://www8.hp.com/us/en/products/desktops/product-detail.html?oid=10669600#!tab=specs , from where one could retrieve the information about your expecting computer. From http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Bulldozer/AMD-A12-Series%20PRO%20A12-9800E.html , one could also retrieve the information around AMD Pro A12-9800E processor, clocking at 3.1GHz, turbo boosting to 3.8GHz, two modules, 4 integer cores, 2 float pointing cores, with TDP up to 35W. The very best thing for this processor is its integrated GPU performance and 35W TDP. But I would not believe its performance would be expected for virtual machines, especially for its underlying core arrangement.