5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2017 9:04 PM by warsun

Idea for APU

ujin

Hello, have some idea to improve APU (iGPU), sorry for bad english... i have no big knowledge, but may be that will work? I actually think that good for AIO, notebooks and compact systems

22211.jpg

http://radikal.ru/lfp/s019.radikal.ru/i612/1702/0e/3d7a93060565.jpg/htm

if url doesnt work i draw: take gddr5 (only gdd5, without gpu (like polaris)), place memory on some thing and that put in pci-e 3, igpu will work with memory (only memory) on pci, cpu will work with full RAM. That external gddr5 should be faster than typical RAM, right? fyl low TPD and compact like typical RAM. Sorry if i say some trash, just asking, can that thing work>

• Re: Idea for APU

No, APU is a value solution rather than a professional solution, focusing on the cost rather than the performance, so your solution tends to be meaningless. In Sony PlayStation 4 (Pro) the system memory is replaced with GDDR5, so your idea is a cloned one!

ifixit

Lol, looking at your pictures, you seem to be suggesting placing your discrete GPu into the DDR3 ram sockets.. I wouldn't do that my friend. EVER!

Lord knows what will happen.

Pins have different assignments and positions for especially voltages, not just data for a start, doing that you would likely blow your system up, secondly, it won't fit, Thirdly, it's barking madness.

But keep at it, your thinking outside the square, you seem interested, I'd suggest you study hardware for a while, different buses, and take an IT coarse or three and keep up the interest, it's a fun hobby.

xajel

There's two main reason for this to be not a good idea

1- The first is already answered by janagewen, APU's are mainly aimed as a value solution, adding GDDR5 Memory will be costly.