2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2017 3:04 PM by guzgarcia

Brave web browser not rendering on Linux with AMD hardware

clifton

Hi folks,

I am a developer working on a product called Brave, which is an open source web browser (disclaimer- I am an employee of Brave Software).

Brave Software | Building a Better Web

GitHub - brave/browser-laptop: Brave browser for Desktop and Laptop computers running Windows, OSX, and Linux

We've gotten several complaints from users about our rendering code on Linux.  It seems whether people use the open source driver or the official driver, they experience an issue where the content is not rendering.  If the people remove the video card, it works great.  Here are a few of the relevant links:

Consistent blank pages (possible driver issue) · Issue #4928 · brave/browser-laptop · GitHub

Blank Page on Ubuntu · Issue #1471 · brave/browser-laptop · GitHub

Blank page when 2 tabs or more · Issue #6022 · brave/browser-laptop · GitHub

So far, we're received reports for these OSes (cards noted where info was available):

• Fedora 25 64bit (Radeon HD 7550M/7570M/7650M)
      • Fedora 24 x86_64 (AMD R9 290)
      • Fedora 23 x86_64
      • Linux Mint 18
      • Ubuntu 16.04
      • OpenSuse Leap
      • Arch Linux

One of our contributors has reported some steps to reproduce:

When opening new tabs web pages are not shown. · Issue #3787 · brave/browser-laptop · GitHub

Another one of our contributors found this:

GPU Acceleration stopped working in Electron 1.2.x (Windows) · Issue #5998 · electron/electron · GitHub

Our code is based on Electron (also used for Visual Studio Code, Atom, Slack, and others).  Electron uses the Chromium rendering engine.  Notice in the post above, it mentions that the video cards were excluded because of a command line blacklist option for Chromium (seems to possibly have bug work-arounds).  You can see this list by downloading and installing Chrome / Chromium and then navigating to chrome://gpu/