2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2016 10:31 AM by savagebeastzero

Can my CPU handle it?!

pcno0b

Hey guys,

I'm kinda new to this kind of forum, but i'm going to do my best.

I want to upgrade my PC with a new graphics card. But I dont know if my CPU can handle the graphics card.

My proccessor: AMD A10-6800K (4.1Ghz, can be overclocked to 4,4Ghz)

The graphics card I want: MSI Geforce 970 4GB

Can my CPU handle it? Otherwise i will buy the MSI Geforce 960 4GB

I hope you guys can help me. If you have any questions, please ask.

• Re: Can my CPU handle it?!
          amdmatt

Yes the APU can support those GPUs. A better match might be an AMD Radeon R9 390 though, as it's a faster GPU.

2 of 2 people found this helpful
          • Re: Can my CPU handle it?!
            savagebeastzero

Hey pcno0b

Although, I know you weren't requesting GPU recommendations from us here in the forums, I have to agree withamdmatt on this. Not only does it offer much more price to performance value, it's overall the much better GPU. Even when thinking in terms of the initial cost, the Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 3.5GB @$319.99 which is currently the cheapest 970 available from Amazon and the VisionTek Radeon R9 390 8GB @$329.99 which is currently the cheapest R9 390 available from Amazon.

That $10 difference is marginal considering you're getting so much more for your money. With developers utilizing more and more Vram with each new AAA release, I guarantee you'd regret the purchase of a GTX 970 with it's 3.5GB of Vram very shortly afterwards as do most of my friends who own(ed*) them.