5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2016 2:29 PM by amdmatt

Problem with installing drivers for Radeon 7730M

smithbdt

I have Dell Inspiron 7520 SE with a Radeon 7730M running Windows 7 64 bit.  I've been running the same old video drivers since 2012, so I felt it was time for an upgrade.  I used the AMD website to find that this is the appropriate driver bundle to download:  Mobile .  This installed a new version of the Catalyst Control Centre on my laptop and has caused no end of problems.  Once I finished the installation and restarted, I received a notification that there were no AMD drivers present.  My video card would not work.  Also, I could not open the Catalyst Control Centre at all.  I have a driver back on (I installed the same old one I started with), but Catalyst still refuses to open and I do not know if I can switch my graphics between my integrated card and my GPU.  Also, I now get a notification that kdbsync.exe has stopped working.

How can I obtain the latest video drivers for my 7730M?  How can I get Catalyst to work?  How can I do any of this without creating a chain reaction that leads to me destroying my computer?

• Re: Problem with installing drivers for Radeon 7730M
          kingfish

Your laptop is equipped with switchable graphics. In order to update the AMD driver, the Intel graphics should be the current version. Go to this Intel link, and manually ( do not use the Intel Driver Update Utility) find the latest graphics driver for your laptop, as pictured. Download and save it to your desktop. If you don't know which version of Intel graphics you have, look in device manager.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/default.aspx

laptop intel drivers.png

Download these AMD drivers to your desktop.

For Windows 8.1 or Windows 7

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/latest-catalyst-windows-beta.aspx

Now delete the Intel drivers from your computer using 'uninstall a program' in the computer control panel.