6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2015 2:16 PM by hardcoregames™

Fx 9590 should I?

admin

I am considering buying a 9590 for an up coming build. I am rather new to the build your own world and so would like some input. It is my intent to build a real monster. I have heard several folks saying the 9590 is over kill and must have a water cooler but I want to hear from other amd junkies

• Fx 9590 should I?
          black_zion
          It depends on how comfortable with overclocking. If you are then you can get the FX-8350 and get it to 4.6ghz with little problem or possibly even 4.7 like the 9590 while using less voltage and producing less heat. It requires a liquid cooler, I prefer the Corsair H105, as it is able to keep my 8350 at 4.6ghz at 1.392v below 45°C during gaming. The FX-8350 can also run on less expensive motherboards, and is $60 cheaper than the FX-9590.
          • Re: Fx 9590 should I?
            digitaldefiance

I like you have recently Built a 9590 Monster,

i can t advise but i can give you my personal experienced opinion,

If you want to buy a 9590 and overclock it then save your cash, its a demon to overclock, even the latest bios on the sabertooth 990fx r2.0 motherboard will muddle it up for you,

go into bios and select performance mode, this in itself causes freezes, after painstakingly scouring the net and all sorts of solutions to problems i dont really have, ie cooling, ie voltage etc and so on, i have finally discovered a way to live in peace and harmony with my beast..

bios is on normal mode and processor runs quite happily at 4.7 ish ghz.

put under load and it fires itself into 5.09 ghz quite comfortably without freeze or error,

if you do want to overclock then probably go with the FX 8350, it has masses of potential and has no where near the power usage and heat the 9590 experiences..

ucouldbrong

On my build, no problems with power usage or heat.  Critics exaggerated or didn't know how to config or cool their build.