Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

annieyang
Journeyman III

HelloWorld Error: access violation

Hi,

I'm new to opencl.

I'm using vs 2008 on windows 7.

I installed AMD APP SDK 2.8 and started to run the demo helloworld in debug mode .But it breaks down with an access violation and the error happens at the first func clGetPlatformIDs.

I searched the forum and found a similar problem,then I checked my display card's mode (ATI MOBILITY RADEON 5650) and installed a Catalyst Software Suite. It contains Display Driver ver. 12.104  ,  OpenCL(tm) Driver ver. 10.0.1124.2  ,  Catalyst Control Center ver. 2013.0328.2217.38225

But still, the demo breaks down. What should I do?

Also, I found that my clinfo.exe seems broken.I double clicked it and it stops working imediately. What's the problem? Does it affect the opencl?

HELP ME,PLEASE!

0 Likes
1 Solution
himanshu_gautam
Grandmaster

Welcome to the OpenCL World

What system config you have CPU, GPU. Is it 32bit or 64-bit machine OS?

Some simple steps for you:

1. Uninstall everything using uninstaller utility from AMD Catalyst Un-install Utility

2. Manually remove AMD APP folder from the "Documents" directory. Also delete amdocl.dll & OpenCL.dll from C:\Windows\system32 and syswow64 folder, incase they are present.

3. Reboot.

4. Install AMD Graphics Driver: AMD Graphics Drivers & Software – Download the latest drivers for your graphics products

5. Reboot.

6. Run clinfo from cmdline.

7. Install AMD APP SDK, and run samples.

Note manually deleting dlls is not recommended by AMD. I just suggested that in case you really screwed up with installation somehow.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
9 Replies
himanshu_gautam
Grandmaster

Welcome to the OpenCL World

What system config you have CPU, GPU. Is it 32bit or 64-bit machine OS?

Some simple steps for you:

1. Uninstall everything using uninstaller utility from AMD Catalyst Un-install Utility