Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

amirkr
Journeyman III

Driver issues (AMD Catalyst 12.10) with openGL developement

Hello everybody,

I posted my question also in the "General Dicussion". I hope it is not a violation of the rules, if so I'll delete the post from the least relevant place.

I have a weird problem which is probably driver-related. I'll describe it the best way I can.

First, my specs:

Dell Studio 1558 - core i7 Q720 @1.6GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, ATI Mobility Radeon 5470HD 1GB.

Windows 8-pro 64bit version (recently upgraded. Though some say it's a downgrade ).

I have downloaded and successfully installed the latest driver package with the catalyst utility. My driver version, as of now, is 9.2.0.0 (dated 9/27/2012).

Problem Background (what caused me to speculate a driver problem):

I'm a Java developer, trying to create a 3D application (a simple game, for that matter). There is a convenient engine called "jMonkey", which is free and is what I'm using. As a part of my learning process, I was trying to apply a Normal Map to an existing 3D object through a very detailed tutorial they posted (including code). This is their tutorial:http://jmonkeyengine.org/wiki/doku.php/jme3:beginner:hello_material .

Unfortunately, although almost everything worked, the normal map didn't load. Applying the same code on a friend's computer (exactly the same code, with the same Java libraries) worked perfectly, as it did for almost anyone else using that tutorial. For me, it didn't work.

I wrote in the jMonkey developers forum (many, many posts...) where I double checked everything code-related, definition-related and whatnot, from the graphic engine's side. It seemed the problem was indeed with the graphic card, or at least its drivers.

Problem description:

I suspect the driver does not support many basic features (albeit supporting some of them) of openGL or rendering graphics in general.