Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

etiienne
Journeyman III

OpenCL-OpenGL Interop and multi-device

Hi !

I'm working on OpenCL-OpenGL interop possibility. More precisely, I use GL for graphical and renderring stuff, and CL for calculation. I don't use NVIDIA SDK (neither AMD).

I'm trying to make it multidevice, but I'm not a GL expert and I don't know how to deal with context creation in a such situation. To initiate the interoperability, all I do is get the current gl context, using specificic method (wglGetCurrentContext for instance), and create my cl context with it. (it works fine)

I'm trying to have multiple OpenGL context at the same time (to work on multiple GPU), and get all these gl context in order to create cl contexts.

Knowing this, I have two questions :

- is it possible to have multiple gl context running a the same time in the same program ?

- if yes, how can i get there id ?

Thanks in advance,

Etienne

0 Likes
5 Replies
Meteorhead
Challenger

Hi!

You are in the same shoes as myself. I'm just ahead of putting together some classes that ease my job of multi-GPU render and calculations.

Practically OpenGL contexts are a pain. One thread can only have one OpenGL context active at a time, and one context can only be active in one thread at a time. (Mutual exclusion in both directions) wglGetCurrentContext will only acquire the context used for desktop render, more precisely the default adapter that belongs to desktop no.1.

If you would like to have multiple OpenGL contexts used at the same time with OpenCL contexts that contain them, you need at least one thread for each OpenGL-OpenCL context pair. You can use any threading class you like to achieve this. (OpenMP, MPI, Boost::Thread, SFML, etc.)