5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2012 11:41 AM by fswehosky

CodeAnalyst install for OpenCL

antyang

Hello,

I am a master student in Taiwan.

I am interesting in OpenCL, so I already install OpenCL in my computer

And I am sure I can run OpenCL code in VS2010.

I use HD5870 GPU, Windows 7 and VS2010.

And I use AMD Catalyst Driver 12.2 and AMD APP SDK 2.6.

When I install CodeAnalyst 3.5 has no any error message like the install step.

But I try to do the analysis with Time-based profile, I can not find the OpenCL summary result like the AMD's Document.

Can I ask about what can I do the setting or maybe what I miss can find it and I can find the OpneCL Summary.

Thanks.

• Re: CodeAnalyst install for OpenCL

Hello Antyang,

CodeAnalyst uses the environmental variable CL_AGENT to communicate to the OpenCL application, and save information from it.  Do you launch your OpenCL application from CodeAnalyst or Visual Studio when you start the profile?  Are you running on a 32-bit or 64-bit system?

Thanks,

-=Frank

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              antyang

Hello,

My system is used Windows 7 64-bit , AMD Catalyst Driver 12.2 64-bit, AMD APP SDK 2.6 64-bit, CodeAnalyst 3.5 64-bit.

I try to set windows 7 Environment variable in set CL_AGENT=C:\Program Files\AMD\CodeAnalyst\bin\oclProfAgent64.dll

And also set CodeAnalyst ->Session Setting -> Environment variable in set CL_AGENT=C:\Program Files\AMD\CodeAnalyst\bin\oclProfAgent64.dll

I try my OpenCL application from CodeAnalyst and VS2010 all can't find OpenCL Summary.

Can I ask what I can check some another place or maybe I miss something.

For CodeAnalyst 3.5, to the best of my knowledge, we install by default to C:\Program Files (x86)\AMD\CodeAnalyst.  That path might be the issue.  If your OpenCL application is 32-bit, you could also try changing the agent to "oclProfAgent32.dll".