Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archives Discussions

tomknk
Journeyman III

Basic questions and graphic card problems

Hi all,

I am new to OpenCL and tried to implement some easy min / max algorithms. But as my ubuntu had some problems with the latest drivers I worked with the cpu part of the stream sdk 2.2 for 2 weeks and after all my opencl-code runs fine on the cpu. I found a workaround for the problems with the latest catalyst driver and got the opencl capabilities of my graphic card back. I use an hd 4670 which is only opencl 1.0 compliant, and has no atomic functions so i kicked all kernels which relied on the atomic functions. But after the rest compiled correctly for the gpu, i have some additional problems.

1) Im not sure wheter i understand the opencl processing wrong or i only implemented things wrong. I thought that every workgroup is cut into pieces of n compute units(n=number of compute units in the gpu) which are than processed at once. Eighter till the end of the kernel is reached or a barrier is hit. Then the next chunk and so on until the whole workgroup (local size) is processed. Then the next workgroup will be processed the same way until all workgroups (global size) are executed.

Is this correct or am I wrong with this expectations?

As I thougt i am right i implemented a kernel which uses a local buffer of 8 elements (as my graphic card has 8 compute units) as i thought each element will be used only once per 8 compute units and so the buffer will be used in a unique way each turn until the whole workgroup is processed. So the following code should work?

sample code:

#define PROC_NUM 8

__kernel min ( __local int* buffer, __global const int* vector ) {

size_t lid = get_local_id(0);

if( vector[lid] > buffer[lid%PROC_NUM] )

buffer[lid%PROC_NUM] = vector[lid];

barrier(CLK_LOCAL_MEM_FENCE);

}

buffer[] was initialised with the first element of vector.