Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Server Gurus Discussions

monil01
Journeyman III

Measuring read and write traffic between LLC and DRAM

Hi,

I am new to AMD hardware.

Currently, I am trying to measure the read and write count that is served by DRAM.  In the intel processor, I was able to count read and write from uncore counters (memory controller) using PAPI.

I am using Zen2 processors: MD EPYC 7402 24-Core Processor

Any pointer on the counter name or tool name would be great.

Thanks.

Monil.

University of Oregon.

0 Likes
9 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello @monil01 ,

Have you tried using our uProf tool for this?  Found here:  https://developer.amd.com/amd-uprof/

Or the Processor Programming Reference (PPR) would contain the registers: https://developer.amd.com/wp-content/resources/55803_B0_PUB_0_91.pdf

Hi @Anonymous 

Thanks a lot for suggesting these.

I have looked at both of the documentations.

Uprof is nice and provides function-wise counter data which I need. 

However, I am struggling with finding events and bypassing the sampling mode of uprof. 

Basically, I have three questions regarding using this tool to measure traffic between LLC and DRAM.

1.  Can uprof work without sampling mode and count all the specified event rather than sampling? For my work, I need the counts as accurately as possible.

2. At, Table 21: Guidance for Common Performance Statistics with Complex Event Selects of the "Processor Programming Reference (PPR) ", there are some events that I am interested to measure using uprof. So far I found only some predefined PMC and IBS events can be measured using uprof. So, how can I measure the event mentioned in the register document?