cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

Moth-TLOU2
Adept I

will tyhe cpu shut down to prevent itself from overheating causes by overclocking

Hello everyone, i need an answer please...

So i have been keeping an ustable OC for 5 months now Zen3 5700g cause it did not pass prime95 which i never had tested. And i tried yesterday

Long story short i had to drop to 4.4 ghz to have it "stable" by prime, BUT during the many attemps where i tested many times to see what freq is stable, whilst i was testing 4.6 or 4.5 my tctl would go 117c 

I run linux and i have  disabled thermal throttling or coredump, mce, watchdog etc in my custom kernel. I enabled these the next day and as soon as i would start testing 4.6ghz it would reboot pc in 2sec rather then letting it be 117c for 10min+ then freeze pc

I know tctl is not real temp BUT even if it was 20c difference from tdie which i could not check in linux, it still meant my cpu real temp would be 100c+ which is above tjunction

My Q is : despite missing thermal/ software support to shut down the pc, like it did when i enabled the above stuff, does the cpu shut down itself without software support when it reaches critical temp to save itself. Is it totally hardware depended? In this case it would not reboot in 2 secs but would freeze pc after 10min+ or whatever

Did my cpu get damaged or i dont have to worry as it froze the pc when critical reached so it didnt get "damaged"

0 Likes
8 Replies

All processors have been engineered to shut down once it reaches a critical Thermal limit to prevent damage to the CPU.

You don't need to have software to do that job. It is built in all processors.

BUT running your CPU in a overheated situation will shorten your processors life and could eventually damage it from running the processor's in excessive temperature over its Maximum Operating Temperature of 95c.