cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

ghost_
Adept I

Unable to post to update BIOS with Ryzen 5 3600 and MSI B450M Pro-VDH Max

From what I'm reading, these B450M Pro-VDH Max boards come with updated BIOS that are Ryzen 3000 ready.

There's no BIOS Flash Button on this model unfortunately.

But have everything installed, and I'm getting the "CPU" and "DRAM" debug lights coming on...power is on to all fans, including GPU, but just black screen, cannot get to post to update BIOS, if needed.

MB: MSI B450M Pro-VDH Max

CPU: Ryzen 5 3600

RAM: Team T-Force Dark Z 16GB (2x8) DDR 3200 (TDZRD416G3200HC16CDC01)

SSD: Samsung 860 EVO 1TB

GPU: Asus GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER 8 GB DUAL EVO Advanced Video Card

Power:  Corsair CX (2017) 550 W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply

Sound Card: Creative Labs Sound Blaster Z 30SB150200000 OEM 24-bit 192 kHz Sound Card

This is my first build, so forgive me if the solution is obvious...but I wanted to ask here before taking it all apart and inquiring about a Boot Kit.

Things I've already tried:

• Going down to 1 stick of RAM
  • Removing the "Reset Switch" from mobo
  • Using VGA and HDMI directly from mobo ports

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated...been on this for 5 days now.

Thanks!!

0 Likes
1 Solution

This is the BIOS version you need that supports the Ryzen 5 3600 processor: Support For B450M PRO-VDH MAX | Motherboard - The world leader in motherboard design | MSI Global 

According to your BIOS download page the Original BIOS version for the motherboard is 7A38vB0.zip: Support For B450M PRO-VDH MAX | Motherboard - The world leader in motherboard design | MSI Global 

So your Motherboard probably has a much newer BIOS version if you just purchased it this year. Your Processor should work with the BIOS you have currently installed.