cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

Ryzen Threadripper 1950x very low benchmark scores (3D Mark)

Hi, first, I'd like to apologize for grammar mistakes and such, as English is not my native language.

I recently got my hand on a Ryzen Threadripper 1950x (My first AMD Processor <3, always had Intel before), and I have been using it for approximately two months.

So far I have experienced some lags (mouse cursor becoming slow or even freezing sometimes) and some programs freezing up before starting (Like the task manager), but I didn't think much of it, mostly blaming it on software related issues.

But now, I recently got 3D Mark and launched a Time Spy benchmark and got thoses CPU results :

- 5163 with a 1070Ti, stock frequency : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 Ti video card benchmark result - AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X,Micro-Star Int...

- 5000 with a Titan Xp CE, stock frequency : NVIDIA Titan Xp Collector's Edition video card benchmark result - AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X,Micro...

- 5251 with a Titan Xp CE, at 3.9Mhz. : NVIDIA Titan Xp Collector's Edition video card benchmark result - AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X,Micro...

- 5057 with a Titan Xp CE, at 4.1Mhz. : NVIDIA Titan Xp Collector's Edition video card benchmark result - AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X,Micro...

(Please note that I'm focusing on the CPU score, and not the GPU score)

When I'm comparing to other benchmarks, the results I'm getting are impressively low, being at least 40% to 50% lower than most benchmarks with the same CPU and 1 GPU.

Now, I don't really know what's causing this, it might also be a good idea to mention that I bought this Threadripper as reconditioned, and that this processor saw 3 different motherboards, as the first two (Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7) died on me after a few days of usage, until I got fed up and changed the motherboard model for an MSI. It worked very well since then (Well at least it did not die).