cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

noxenvon
Adept I

Ryzen Master EDC at 100%?

I've recently made a new build with a 2700x, it's not overclocked, everything (CPU, GPU, RAM) is running at stock speeds. My question is; why does Ryzen Master software show the EDC, whatever that is, at 99-100% at idle? What is EDC, is it dangerously high for my system, can I change it? I've tried google searched on this topic but there's little to no -entry level- explainations. Threads and reddit posts have gone into such extreme details referring to VRM's and other techno jumble I don't quite understand just yet. I'm very new to the enthusiast PC scene, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

1 Solution
Matt_AMD
Community Manager

This issue can be resolved by using the Windows Balanced Power Profile and the latest version of Ryzen Master Tool which you can download here: AMD Ryzen™ Master Utility for Overclocking Control | AMD

From Redstone 3, the Windows Balanced Power Profile now contains the changes that made the Ryzen Balanced Power Profile Unique, but with the added benefit that the processor can now lower voltage and frequency when idle.

View solution in original post

38 Replies
misterj
Big Boss

noxenvon, I am with you and trying to determine what EDC means.  I installed Ryzen Master to see what it says about my system but cannot find EDC, so far.  Apparently there are two; CPU and SOC.  Which are you looking at? Here are my specifications, please post your equivalent:

ASRock Fatal1ty X399 Pro Gaming, Threadripper 1950X, 2xSamsung SSD 960 EVO RAID, 1TB &

500 GB WD Black, G.SKILL [Flare X (for AMD)] F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Windows 10 x64 Pro,

Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.0

Got to run, check later.  Enjoy, John.

0 Likes

Here is what I have on my Ryzen Master screen, I'm looking at the EDC (CPU) option, second from last.

Imgur: The magic of the Internet

My specs;

Ryzen 2700x