cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

Evo-Pc
Adept I

Ryzen 7 2700x high temps on idle and under load.

Hello there! I’m a bit new to the whole community so bear with me. 

Ive recently been noticing that my Ryzen 7 2700x has been throttling extremely hard and has had insanely high idle temps. I have not overclocked at all and have two front fans in my case providing plenty of air flow. I do not have a rear fan for exhaust but plan on installing one soon. I have had idle temps sitting at 70-85c depending on what is open. I’ve changed fan settings inside bios and set them to max speed with no difference. The throttling occurs whenever the temps go above 75c. The clock speeds have reached as low as 2.3gHz which does not seem right. Here are my specs listed below.

Evga RTX 3060 TI XC

AsRock B450m Pro4

Ryzen 7 2700x 8 cores 16 threads

Stock AMD Wraith Cooler

Ive tried updating the bios to see if that was the problem and still nothing. Thanks for your time and if I missed anything I will gladly answer or add the info.

0 Likes
1 Solution

seems like your AMD CPU Cooler is not cooling.

Check to see visually if the CPU Cooler fan is working at Maximum speed and check to see if by any chance you might have jarred the CPU Cooler loose from the Processor.

I suggest you remove the CPU Cooler and reapply the Themal Paste and reset the CPU Cooler on the processor. It should be fairly tight and making good contact with the surface of the processor.

Also check to see if the fan is extremely dirty or the fan blade turns easily or there is any obstruction hitting the Fan blade like a cable or wire.

The fan blade should turn very easily without any resistance or noise at low speeds or by turning manually.

Generally with your type of high temperatures at idle it has something to do with the CPU Cooler installation or operation.

According to AMD Specs on your processor the Maximum Operating Temperature is 85C and the TDP is 105 watts.