cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

nsargentum
Adept II

Ryzen 5600x: System constantly crashing/restarting WHEA-Logger ID 18 and ID 19 sometimes

I'm having the exact same issue on a 5600x with a msi tomahawk b550. I have a x570 gigabyte aorus master and a r9 3900x I was thinking of swapping this CPU with that and testing there.

OK; Get ready for this, Here's everything I've done so far to eliminate variables:

1. Swapped the system drive (nvme) and reinstalled windows from scratch
  2. Unplugged all other drives
  3. Swapped GPUs
  4. Swapped PSU
  5. Swapped memory from 3200Mhz Gskill TridentZ CL16 to 2667Mhz CL16 Corsair Vengeance
  6. Swapped the Msi Tomahawk B550 with another MSI tomahawk B550 to verify it wasn't the board.

Ensured I'm on the latest bios for the MOBO and the previous 1 which was also post Ryzen 5000 release.

7C91vA51(Beta version)
Release Date
2020-11-16

Description
- Support AMD SAM(SMART ACCESS MEMORY) function

AND
7C91vA4
Release Date
2020-11-04

Description
- Updated AMD AGESA ComboAm4v2PI 1.1.0.0 Patch C

I have literally done everything you can do aside from swapping the CPU and turning off PBO or any other bios settings. So if anyone is wondering if this exact error and restarting behavior is a single component in the system, in my case, it's not. It's the CPU or the microcode that hasn't been updated yet. Now.... I've seen forums where people with 3000 series CPUs were getting the same thing. I'm at the point of buying a 5950x *(when it's available) to replace my 3900x, buy it's super annoying that I may have to RMA my CPU for my main gaming rig the 5600x when there is almost no stock and I got lucky enough to buy a CPU with the supply being so low.

For reference, these are the CPUs I've owned, none of which have had this issue:
fx 6300
fx 8150
r5 1600
r7 1700x
r7 1800x
r7 2700
ThreadRipper 2950x
r5 3600x
r9 3900x
4500U