Processors

Fly1
Journeyman III

Ryzen 5 3600 rebooting randomly

0 Likes
6 Replies
Meshuggoh
Journeyman III

I'm not an expert... but I think anybody would ask you if you have monitored any temperature and, since you have cleared CMOS, i'm assuming you did tried rams at stock speed at least for troubleshooting?

Try keeping ram sticks where the user manual tells you, usually slot 2 and 4, but trying different modules in different slots was a good call, 1 stick at once in first slot (check user manual again) did the problem persist?

And maybe... I had a faulty reset button many years ago, but reboots were happening in bios as well for me, sooo... it's a maybe... but did you tried booting the system without the front panel plugged in? 

The best you can narrow down where the problem is, the better... Hope something shows up

0 Likes

Yes, I have monitored the temps and they're fine. I have tried with XMP on and off. I considered the possibility of the restart button but it seems very unlikely. I will try it just in case though.

I just ran several passes of memtest86 and passed with 0 errors. It ran for several hours and did not reboot there once.

0 Likes

try lower ram to 3200 , 3600 is overclocking ... if ok with 3200 try raising a little voltage of ram maybe if you want absolutely to have 3600

memtest won't always detect error if ram is not faulty and causing reboot only on certain conditions (for exemple pc at idle or just browsing etc)

whatever , i find it better when i run my ram 3200 vs 3600 , some games seems smoother to me (even if fps are the same in benchmarks)...in fact i have 4x4400 ram running 3200 cl14 ram , even if i can set stable at 3600cl16 , i made some tests and prefere where they are 3200

0 Likes