cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

abrichter
Journeyman III

Ryzen 5 3500x temperatures

Hello. This is my first time using an AMD processor after using Intel in my old computer for 8 years and I'm quite anxious about its temperatures. I'm worried that I might damage or reduce the lifespan of the processor and its nearby components. Are these temperatures normal under the load of one browser, one game, and Steam downloading in the background? I am also using the stock CPU cooler. 

95890741_3615896945090565_6417369172509982720_n.jpg

0 Likes
7 Replies
mccharle
Elite

Hello abrichter,

when you are idle what is the temp ?

You have stock cpu cooler, have you check thermal past ?

When you lock cpu cooler, to you force a little or it's very easy ?

CPU Fans speeds are on silent or active mode on bios ?

Power schema on windows is AMD Balanced or AMD High perf ?

Latest BIOS, chipset drivers 2.04 ?

0 Likes

Ok if I read correctly you are using the stock cooler and you get those temps from AIDA64? while having a browser open with steam DL  in the BG while playing a game all at the same time?

If the answer is yes, then yes, those are somewhat normal, last one is max and that could be a spike of a few seconds, the middle one is the one to key on 71, now having said that, they are a little high that was the somewhat part, but nothing to worry about they can go up to 95 but like I always do in my head I set max at 5 less so for me max is 90 if it get's close to that then I start looking to see what's going on.
Just like you I like to see them around 60's while underload but since I also like it quiet I let it get to 75 and then the fan curve get's a bit aggressive to cool it quick but then go back silent.
So then let me ask you:
What case do you have, does it have good airflow?
Is the air path clear that the cpu cooler gets enough fresh air?
Does it have at least a good AF exhaust fan?
Enough fans in the case?