cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

pscgi
Journeyman III

PC is randomly slowing down after switching CPU from 3900x to 5950x

Hi everyone. Two days ago I replaced my 3900x with 5950x and looks like there's something wrong because sometimes - after using PC for some time - it is slowing down a lot, everything is very laggy and I have to turn my PC off and then back on to bring it back to the full speed. And I have to switch my PSU to 0 and then again to 1 to make it work with full speed, simply restarting PC doesn't help. I'm a 3D artist so I have checked Corona Renderer benchmark 1.3 and when everything is fine it reaches about 10000 rays/s and when this issue happens it only reaches about 1000 rays/s so 10x less. I have updated bios to the latest version so I guess that's not the problem. Does anybody have any idea what might cause this problem? I've never experienced anything like this with 3900x or before that with Ryzen 1700 etc. I'd be very thankful for help

0 Likes
8 Replies
Skrybe
Challenger

I don't understand what you're talking about when you refer to the PSU. Are you saying you literally have to turn the Power Supply off using the power supplies power button? Anyway the problem itself sounds like the CPU is throttling. Which is usually the result of heat.

So a few questions;

What heatsink are you using on the CPU? Is it mounted firmly? And did you properly apply thermal paste to the CPU before attaching the heatsink?

What temperature is the CPU at idle in windows and when running a render? If you don't already have a way to check that there are a ton of utils, HWInfo is a good choice but you can google for alternatives.

What speed is the CPU running at , again when idle in windows and when running a render? You can check that just by using the Performance tab in task manager.

It could be another problem but lets rule overheating out first.

0 Likes