wooderzon
Journeyman III

My games crash when using precision boost overdrive

Specs:

Ryzen 5 3600x

EVGA XC Ultra Rtx 2070 Super 

Gskill Trident z Neo 3600C16 RAM

Asus Tuf X570 Mobo, Bios version 1405

Pretty simple, when my cpu is boosting with PBO all my games crash. With it turned off and cpu at base 3.8Ghz I have no crashes what so ever. Temps are more than acceptable with PBO enabled and disabled, gpu temps good as well. I've had this problem since I built this pc and turning off PBO is the only solution to fixing game crashes. It's not my memory, and my kit is on the motherboard's QVL. Someone on another forum suggested that I probably got a bad chip, but I don't know, as I said I have no crashes with PBO turned off. Done plenty of windows reinstalls, and I'm on the latest bios version. Games with crashes: Division 2, Destiny 2, Sekiro, and Jedi Fallen Order.  Again, all are fine with it turned off, but I paid for this feature, and I'm sure there is a fix but I'm new to this stuff and can't seem to find other people with this same issue anywhere.

0 Likes
9 Replies
wooderzon
Journeyman III

No answers? hm, interesting. 

0 Likes

Stop using PBO? It's not a stock setting, and AMD never said it will be stable with your setup. 

Perhaps the dumbest thing I have ever read. If it were only "golden samples" or even 50% of samples, it would be a installable option to add, not a mandatory feature for EVERY AM5. All this comment actually supports is gas lighting buyers to believing its fine for AMD to make unstable and wildly variating quality of chips thanks to comments as dumb as this. 

0 Likes