cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

mazzi
Adept I

Just upgraded to a Ryzen 5 3600, but my monitor won't display anything.

I'm fairly new to computer stuff. I've only really upgraded my gpu before and it's worked great since. However, I recently thought I needed to upgrade my cpu. What I have is Ryzen 3 Quad Core and I just got a Ryzen 5 3600 6 Core. I watched videos and got advice and everything on putting it in. I was careful and didn't touch the bottom of the chip. I'm 99% sure nothing is broken and I have gone through and rechecked every wire and it all seems in place. When I turn it on, everything powers on, the fans and all, but nothing displays on my monitor. I asked some friends and they thought maybe it's my motherboard that was outdated. I have a ASROCK A320M-HDV motherboard that came with my pc when I bought it pre-built a year or two ago. I had thought that since I already had a Ryzen cpu before that it would work, but now I'm not so sure. Does anyone have a solution to why it's not working?

0 Likes
1 Solution

Fantastic, You gave the incomplete Motherboard Model in your previous reply. According to CPU-Z you a have a A320M-HDV R4.0 Motherboard.

I deleted my reply with the wrong Motherboard information on it so as not to confuse you.

But you still have the wrong BIOS version for the Ryzen 5 3600 Processor. Here is the minimum BIOS Version you need to make that processor to work in your motherboard: ASRock > A320M-HDV R4.0 

You have according to CPU-Z, BIOS version 2.0 which is not compatible with the Ryzen 5 3600 processor.

This is the Minimum BIOS version you need to install: ASRock > A320M-HDV R4.0 

Please follow closely and accurately the instructions in Yellow lettering before updating your BIOS from version 2.00 to 2.30.