cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

michaelk
Journeyman III

It's an "off the shelf" Lenovo Desktop LN H30-05, not home build. Is it possible to change the processor in / out? It has the following : AMD A8-6410 with AMD Radeon R5 Graphics. 2.00 GHz. 16.0 GB RAM. 64 - bit operating system, x64 - based processor. Wi

I am not a computer scientist. I am enthusiastic and capable.

Is it a straight swap?

I don't know the mother board.

If yes, what would be a good upgrade for my system?

And either instructions, guidelines or a link to how to do this properly.

Thank you for your time. I do have a small budget, say, €250.

0 Likes
6 Replies
mcalin
Adept III

0 Likes
mcalin
Adept III

FM1-Compare.png

Your current Processor is an APU which includes onboard graphics, you would need to add a GPU to compliment the new CPU.

for $250 pound you would be much better off getting a simple Ryzen 2200g and a cheap MOBO and some DDR4 2400mhz and you will play fornight at 720p at 50fps+

0 Likes
mcalin
Adept III

Heck, i would even recommend the new Athlon 200G APU which has Vega 3 graphics built in, this will play Fortnight at 30+ FPS @ 720p

FOR $250 POUND you would go very close to building a brand new Athlon System, you may be able to keep all your computer parts except the Mobo, APU and Ram

One day you could drop in a 2700x CPU and GPU

if you have 250 pound dont waste your time upgrading your current system, you should be able to get a complete new system for that, i can build brand new Athlon system for $350 in Australian dollars

0 Likes

Download a free program called SPECCY. This will tell you most Make & Models of your computer hardware plus software installed.

That way you can find out what Motherboard is installed.

Unfortunately, you can't just swap processors unless you know the Motherboard's BIOS will support it. I would contact Lenovo Support and asked them what processors are supported on your computer.

0 Likes
rodrox