cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

jodison1994
Journeyman III

HDD lost after wake up from sleeping

Hello there!! It is my first time to use an AMD platform and I am impressed by its high performance while comparing with Intel platform with similar price. However, there is something wrong with my PC. When I wake up my PC from sleeping mode, my 10T HDD will disappear. And these are my disk management site before and after its sleeping mode:

disk display1.png

disk display2.png

As you can see, the disk 2, or the 10T HDD disappears. I have asked some of my friends about this problem, and they said it is the common side effect for an AMD platform after wake it up. Also, I have asked Microsoft about it, their engineer said maybe my HDD have some problems. I have no idea about how to solve it. My system information is attached below. I am fully appreciate for any assistance.

0 Likes
3 Replies

This sounds more like a Windows issue than an AMD issue. 

But to eliminate HDD hardware failure download Seagate's SEATOOLS for Windows or Toshiba's HDD's own diagnostic program and run their tests and see if it passes.

Also you can run CHKDSK /r/x to check your HDD disk for bad sectors.

If those HDD Diagnostic passes then I see that you have Asus AI Suite III installed. Disable or uninstall AI Suite III temporarily and see if your HDD disappears after sleep again.

I notice that you are running Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 64-bit (10.0, Build 17763) (17763.rs5_release.180914-1434). That could be part of the problem since you are not using the latest version of Windows 10 with the latest Windows 10 updates. Possible Asus AI Suite III may not be completely compatible with that Windows OS version.

I read that Samsung Magician was the cause of this happening in a MS Forum thread: Secondary Hard Drive Disappears After Wake From Sleep Since - Microsoft Community