cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

southernyeti
Journeyman III
Journeyman III

Do I have to clean CPU if I touched the contacts?

Got a total newbie question. I just bought a Threadripper 1950x CPU. While in the process of trying to install it on my motherboard I accidentally touched the golden contacts on the underside of the CPU. If I look at the contacts in the right light I can faintly make out a slight color difference on the contacts where my fingers touched them (probably due to the oil on my fingers). My questions is do I need to clean those contacts, and if so how should I clean them safely so I don't damage the CPU. I have seen people use alcohol wipes to clean the top plate of the CPU before applying thermal paste, but I don't know if that will hurt the contacts.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

0 Kudos
9 Replies
black_zion
Esteemed Contributor III

Re: Do I have to clean CPU if I touched the contacts?

Intel says you can use isopropyl alcohol, 91% strongly preferred as it evaporates very quickly, so the same would apply to AMD. I'd followup with a few blasts of canned air to ensure it was completely dry before you put it in the socket. Just be sure to use a soft cloth and don't use a lot of pressure.

They also say...

vichansenn
Adept I
Adept I

Hi, I did the same mistake

but is it possible to have information from AMD, how to clean gold pins?

0 Kudos
black_zion
Esteemed Contributor III

You don't clean the pins if you touch them unless you do something dumb like eat cheese puffs before installing a CPU.

0 Kudos
vichansenn
Adept I
Adept I

Yes, but i have the same problem. I see the difference between touched pins and untouched (naturally I washed my hands). My question is: is there any documentations from AMD about how to clean pins?

0 Kudos
black_zion
Esteemed Contributor III