cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

denislayev
Adept I

Black screen on boot

Hello so I'm very new to pc building, and I have just built my first pc with Ryzen 5 4500, it boots up but all I see is a black screen. I connected everything right, monitor to the GPU and stuff

My specs:

CPU: Ryzen 5 4500 

Motherboard: MSI a520m PRO-VH

GPU: Palit Nvidia Geforce GTX 1650 

Memory: G skill aegis 2x8 gb 3200mhz

0 Likes
12 Replies

When you start booting up without any video output is the HDD/SSD LED still flashing or on steady indicating that it is booting into Windows?

If it is, wait until Windows starts to load, and see if you have video output or not.

NOTE: Some GPU cards do not have video outputs during POST until Windows starts loading or you have BIOS set to CSM Mode (Legacy Mode).

Make sure you have your Monitor cables connected to your GPU card and not to the Motherboard's video output ports and the Monitor is set to connect to the PC under Monitor Settings.

If the PC doesn't start booting into Windows by the PC HDD LED light then you need to see what Trouble LED is lit on the Motherboard or Digital Trouble Code or install a PC Speaker to hear the Beep codes to determine at what stage the Boot process failed.

0 Likes

Its running for like 20mins now, still no output. Everything seems to be right

I also tried to plug my speakers in, but I don't hear anything coming out of them

0 Likes

Does you Motherboard have any Trouble LEDs on it?  Yes according to your Mobo Manual:

Screenshot 2022-06-11 234746.png

Regular speakers I don't believe will work. You need to connect a PC Case Speaker to the same connection where you connect the PC case's HDD/SSD LED, Power, and Restart switches. They cost anywhere from a couple of dollars and above.

NOTE: You don't need to install A PC Case Speaker since your motherboard has Trouble LEDs installed. Only if you want to as a second method to know when the PC is not booting up.