cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

carlosyarza
Journeyman III

Best eGPU for a macbook pro 15´ 2016 touchbar?

Hello everyone,

I'd like to ask for suggestions on what would be the best option for a eGPU on a MacBook Pro 15" 2016, as most of the info and tests I've found are for newer MBP versions. I work as a video editor on Premiere, AE, Cinema 4D.

Here are my laptop specs: 

Processor: 2,6 GHz Intel Core i7

Memory: 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3

Graphics: AMD Radeon Pro 450

Any help will be much appreciated, thanks!

0 Likes
1 Reply

From APPLE Support concerning their recommended eGPUs for MacBook Pro and other Mac laptops: Use an external graphics processor with your Mac - Apple Support 

Supported eGPU configurations

It's important to use an eGPU with a recommended graphics card and Thunderbolt 3 chassis. If you use an eGPU to also charge your MacBook Pro, the eGPU's chassis needs to provide enough power to run the graphics card and charge the computer. Check with the manufacturer of the chassis to find out if it provides enough power for your MacBook Pro.

Recommended graphics cards, along with chassis that can power them sufficiently, are listed below.

Thunderbolt 3 all-in-one eGPU products

These products contain a powerful built-in GPU and supply sufficient power to charge your MacBook Pro.

Recommended Thunderbolt 3 all-in-one eGPUs:

AMD Radeon RX 470, RX 480, RX 570, RX 580, and Radeon Pro WX 7100

These graphics cards are based on the AMD Polaris architecture. Recommended graphics cards include the Sapphire Pulse series and the AMD WX series.

Recommended Thunderbolt 3 chassis for these graphics cards:

• OWC Mercury Helios FX4
  • PowerColor Devil Box
  • Sapphire Gear Box
  • Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Box 350W
  • Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Box 550W4
  • Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Box 650W4
  • Razer Core X4
  • PowerColor Game Station4
  • HP Omen4
  • Akitio Node6

AMD Radeon RX Vega 56