Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

runforrest
Journeyman III

(Backdoor inside) AMD - Platform Security Processor

Hello, AMD company.

I have been using AMD products for many years, and always believed you. But the fact that I recently got to know is frankly impressed me. It turns out that you, as well as Intel, betrayed all your users. And there can be no more trust to you.

Now i want to ask you an official question.

I want to know how can i disable this backdoor, which is called AMD PSP (same as Intel MEI), which is a direct threat to my confidentiality?

And i want to see the list of processors & boards & chipsets & BIOS'es, which support/not support/"allow to disable" this ugly and malignant function !?

So what can you answer me ??

7 Replies

The best place to answer your question is from AMD Support directly from here: Online Service Request | AMD .

It is possible some User may know the answer though and reply.

From Wikipedia concern AMD  PSP:

According to GITHUB, you can disable AMD PSP via BIOS with the correct AGESA installed: Disable AMD PSP 

Basically you need to go to your Motherboard's Support site and see if they have the BIOS Update where you can "Enable/Disable" AMD PSP.

Thank u for answer. I'll will try this way (disable PSP in BIOS).

But... How can i be sure that this option will actually disable the all PSP functions, and that it is not a dummy ??

Is there any research from independent experts on this topic ?

Good question. I would open an Online AMD Service Request and asked them.

1 Year later and no reply... Pretty important question, don't you think?

0 Likes

With new information coming to light on the sheer dumbassery in intel and amd, I'm forced to go ARM.

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

That's exactly how I see it, with the Windows 11 requirements the open back door to our PC is cemented, pants down!