cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

Aims
Adept I

AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3960x - TRX40 help!

Hello everyone! I had a PC company build me a PC recently for my work (I'm a 3D artist). The main parts are the CPU - AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3960x & a TRX40 AORUS XTREME motherboard.

Recently my motherboard blew (unsure as to why) but anyways since all the parts are under warranty, I went back and they told me the TRX40 motherboard I have has been discontinued and finding available TRX40 motherboards is extremely rare and I should look at changing my CPU. Which is annoying as I just bought this 6 months ago and spent a tone of money on this.

I looked everywhere in Europe to find a spare TRX40 motherboard and only found some in Tunisia, Morocco, China, India - but don't want to order from those countries in case I have issues again. Plus if the motherboards are discontinued, why would I stick it out with these parts if there is no support. 

I've been told by the PC company that the CPU only takes TRX40 motherboards, and with them being discontinued, that its basicaally useless now, however I still see many shops online and in Europe selling the CPU. 

So just curious, is it true that this CPU only takes those motherboards? It's a bit odd no?

Any help would be appreciated!

5 Replies
BigAl01
Volunteer Moderator

The TRX40 motherboards are available in the USA through Newegg and probably other vendors.  Can you check some sites closer to you, perhaps in the UK?  I would wonder about your PSU too, if the motherboard failed.  I know those Threadripper CPUs use a lot of power.  Your particular motherboard is available at about $1K USD out here.

As Albert Einstein said, "I could have done so much more with a Big Al's Computer!".
0 Likes