cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

Samarin
Adept I

AMD Ryzen 5000x and spontaneous reboots

Hello. I am a programmer. And I tried everything that could fix my problem. But, in the end, nothing helped. I am very disappointed with AMD.

When the PBO function is enabled in the BIOS, the computer spontaneously reboots, usually when it is idle. I've tried in Windows. Tried it on Linux. I changed the voltage, optimized the BIOS settings and tried all its versions. Even changed the power supply, motherboard and RAM. The computer will reboot spontaneously anyway. And this problem has affected all AMD Ryzen 5000x processors.

Say, AMD, are you going to recall thousands of Rysen 5000x processors, or will you release the AGESA patch that will correct the current situation ?! When will you decide this? Thank you, AMD.

AMD Ryzen 5950x / ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero / 64 Gb. Crucial Ballistix Max CL16 / GeForce RTX 3090

Respectfully
11 Replies
Mozart
Adept I

You should try and rma that cpu ASAP but you could try and disable PBO first and see if it helps

Thanks you. Of course, with the PBO disabled, the processor runs smoothly and without system reboots. Even when setting the multiplier manually, the processor continues to work. But, when you turn on PBO, everything ends with random reboots. All buyers who have paid big bucks for the AMD Rysen 5950x want it to work right. Thanks you!

Respectfully

I own the 5900cpu and 6900xt cpu and this is the only thing that have made my computer stable.
( it crashes in all games if i dont do this )

Go into bios and factory reset everytning back to factory default.
turn on advanced mode ( f2 )
Find   CpuVcore
Change Auto to 1,375volt

This have made it possible for me to play games.
But ofcourse this is not how a brand new hardware is supposed to work..