MSI B450 pro vdh max
MSI GTX 1650 Super
16GB RAM
CX650 psu

so i have the above mentioned specs

I am facing temperature issues with my CPU
At idle it is around 48C to 50C

But when i started playing Mafia 3
The temperature rised up till 85C-90C in no time.
I checked this temperature using MSI After Burner while playing the game using on screen display mode.

I even ran tests with CINEBENCH with CoreTemp software to check the temperature.

Using Multiple cores of CPU the temperature went around 90C-94C

Can you help me with this issue?

NOTE : "I don't have any AIO cooler installed, all these temps are on Stock Cooler."

0 Likes
9 Replies
frederiktheisen
Journeyman III

This is very similar to my R7 3700X with stock cooler (described in my own thread).

Did you enable any overclock in the bios?

How does the CPU temperature curve look?

Also, I think you should try a different monitoring software (HW info/monitor).

0 Likes

Thank you for your reply!

I haven't enabled anything!!

How to check if OC is enabled?

i am sorry i am new at this

I have tried HW info/monitor already!

0 Likes
fyrel
Miniboss

What is your ambient room temperature?

At idle your CPU temps should be around 15C higher than ambient.

If it is a lot higher than that I would try remounting the cooler with new thermal paste.

You can use MSI afterburner to set a manual fan curve, turn the fans right up and test the temperatures you get under load.

If they don't come down then you probably need a better cooler.

If they do come down play with the fan curve until you get a nice balance between temperature and noise.

Once your happy with the fan curve set it in bios so you don't need to run MSI afterburner.

0 Likes

My ambient temperature differs from 28C to 33C 

And the idle constant temp i get on my PC is between 45C to 52C

Can you tell me "How to check if my OC is enabled?"

I am going to order new thermal paste, it will take some time.